Happy St. Patrick’s Day

I love St. Patrick’s Day because I don’t feel pressured to buy anybody anything.  We can just enjoy the holiday and wear something green.  Is it a holiday for the Irish only?  Does it matter?  Click here for a history reminder of St. Patrick’s Day.  It was my favorite holiday when I was a kid because we went to school ready to pinch people who forgot to wear green.  I don’t think that’s tolerated in schools these days.  It’s reserved for family members now.

A bunch of clovers. She picked them for our table centerpiece.

A clover leaf. We heart St. Patrick's Day.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

Come grow with us!

4 Responses to “Happy St. Patrick’s Day”

  1. Wow, those are HUGE! I’ve never seen clovers that big before. I live in Northern California just above Sacramento and I’ve never seen anything even close to that – all we have are like 1/2 inch wide and maybe 2 or 3 inches tall.

    • That’s funny! You made me think that maybe they are something else. I researched them and I believe they are indeed, monster clovers. They do grow next to the bunny poop and where there is a slight water leak.

      • 9bgardener Says:

        Shamrocks on steroids? ‘ Looks like your basic pink wood sorrel, (oxalis debilis, var. corymbosa), or “Shamrock” as florists call it when potted up and offered for sale on St. Patrick’s Day. I have the same pop up wild every spring in south central Florida under a Live Oak tree, with some of the leaves 3″ across. Flowers have 5 purplish-pink clubbed petals with lighter striated throat and green deep in centers. It’s interesting that the farther the sprawling crop extends from the rich moist leaf litter under the oak tree, the smaller the leaves and fewer the flowers. I’d say that yours have OPTIMALLY ENHANCED ENVIRONMENT! Thanks so much for this post! It seems to indicate that this variety may have become naturalized in Florida.

  2. My little one loves to eat wood sorrel. Those are huge!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 348 other followers

