Hello…we can’t come to the phone right now ’cause we’re outside in the garden.

Hello! My name is Lisa.  Welcome to my blog.  My family lives on 3 acres in Southwest Florida.  About 4 years ago we decided that we were tired of mowing our lawn.   We have gradually been turning our lawn into an outdoor living room with food and animals.  Now we spend much more time outside in our yard.

I realize that I will never know everything there is to know about gardening. We learn so much everyday. Gardening is something we love learning about together as a family.  Our lives are so hectic.  Gardening brings us together to slow down and smell the flowers… and then maybe eat them.  My goal is to inspire you to do the same.  I have so much to share with you.  It is a soulful  journey.

 Come grow with us!

8 Responses to “Hello…we can’t come to the phone right now ’cause we’re outside in the garden.”

  1. I think this is Fantastic keep it up and I will spread the word .

  2. I love this! I live in NC and can’t grow some of the same things you do, but I am an avid gardener! I thought it was great about the seed storage…especially loved the Colgin wood box! (I collect wine too) I have been wanting to get chickens for a long time, but am afraid of losing them to my fox and coyotes…I grew up with a gardener mother, believe me – the gift you are giving your children is immeasurable! XO

  3. Ed Rierson Says:

    Hey Lisa, I love this site. I am an avid gardener but where we live (Michigan) we can’t grow much of the same things you do. I did build a greenhouse and I just increased the size last fall. I keep my tropical plants in there. We built a fruit garden in the back yard and have it all screened in so the birds don’t eat all the fruit, strawberries (tons of them), blueberries and raspberries. We have apple, pear and cherry trees scattered around the front and back yard as well. Keep up the good work and I’ll look forward to updates. Good job!

  4. Hello Lisa and family, Bravo on the site. It brings life as we all should know it. Looking at the photo’s I feel trap in this concrete world and forget what life is about. Memories of when I was overseas and next to our home, we planted herbs along side of an old olive tree and looking at the colorful photo’s, I can smell them now.
    Your site has inspired me, thank you

  5. Live next door to your mother –love your info!!

  6. Kinshala Says:

    Hi Lisa,
    where in Southwest Florida do you live? we are starting a home project similar to yours in Naples, we have a small garden going with some herbs and vegetables, some earth worms and 4 chickens. seeing your site has inspired me even more! we would love to see your place if that is possible…
    Kinshala

  7. Phew, I just finished reading you blog. I am in a similar zone in Florida and it’s really wonderful to have blogs like this to learn from. I moved from Ohio a few years ago and have to re-learn how to garden. I love how you are teaching your kids. My little one has some special needs and being outdoors and learning plants and eating them is so healing! And fun! Pretty soon he will know more than me. I hope to add animals soon.

    • I think it’s so wonderful for kids to grow up outdoors eating their garden food and nurturing their animals. I’m sure you’ll have a zoo in no time… it is a slippery slope 🙂

Leave a Reply

