Sunny Side Up!

We are a homeschooling family.  The best part about it is that we’re on our own schedule.  It’s not all fun and games though, the workload is pretty tough.  Grayson starts his work in the morning and comes out of his “classroom” when he’s ready for breakfast… and then lunch.  This morning he asked for quail eggs sunny side up.  I thought it was blog-worthy.

Those are quail eggs in my hand and quail eggs frying in the pan... in real butter.

Bite-sized little eggs.

I like to fry both sides of my eggs sometimes.  They were prettier before I fried both sides, but they’re too runny for Grayson’s taste.  Tomorrow morning I’ll make eggs in a blanketWe’ll have to try them hard-boiled too.  The kids will have to peel their own.

Breakfast of Champions!

Come grow with us!

4 Responses to “Sunny Side Up!”

  1. You know, I just have to tell you….what you are doing is a wonderful thing. I don’t think ANYONE in their right mind would think that what you are doing is easy in any way, shape, or form. I certainly enjoy your posts and you can come to my house anytime and cook me breakfast with quail eggs, show me how to plant and take care of such an incredible property or just help me build my chicken coop! So, hats off to you! XOXO, Eliza

  2. My son hardly looks forward to homeschool every day. He prefers to play! Do you get any attitude problem with your kids? How do you deal with it?

    • My 4-year-old loves doing her school work, but she’s 4. My 10-year-old gives me some grief about doing his school work sometimes. I sit him down and we have a “motivation” discussion about why he’s doing school work in the first place. There are days where he’d prefer I not bother him while he gets his school work accomplished and there are days where we spend lots of time doing it together. He’s had days where he would just rather being doing something else… like fishing. Sooo, sometimes he gets lucky and I just let him spend the day outside fishing or doing whatever he wants. I’m pretty flexible and so far it’s really worked out well. I try to take the pressure off him when I think it’s necessary. I do keep him in a routine though and he has a responsibility to get his work finished.

      The kids have a room that is set up as a classroom. We made it comfy, yet it has a big desk. They like having their own workspace. There’s always a cat in there laying on their paperwork which probably helps lower his stress level (bit of sarcasm here).

      I love that we have the freedom to teach our children the way we know they will learn best. There is a book that was recommended to me that I have yet to read, but I’m planning on it. It’s called, “Discover Your Child’s Learning Style” by Mariaemma Willis. I’m getting geared up to figure out my daughter’s learning style.

Leave a Reply

