Garden of Weeden

No Comment.

I refuse to use glyphosate (Roundup) to kill my weeds for many reasons. (That’s a topic for another blog.)   So, I do all my weed-pulling the old-fashioned way… by hand.  It’s an over-whelming task for a Florida gardener in the summertime.  Ideally, I would go outside and  pull weeds everyday to stay on top of the situation, but that just ain’t gonna happen.  The weeds in the above picture took over my garden bed when I blinked.  The seeds on the tops of those weeds will make the problem even worse because they will re-seed all over the place.  It’s not the end of my gardening world though and it doesn’t take me long to pull the weeds out.  They’re going to grow where I don’t want them no matter what I do.  The bright side is that they won’t germinate as much in the winter, so I do get a much-needed break. 

Loring picks the weed "flowers" and makes a bouquet with them.

I just recently put the clear plastic down to help suppress the weeds.  As you can tell by the picture, the weeds laughed at me.  They will grow through a pin prick in the plastic.  The picture is embarrassing to me because it looks so untidy, but it is reality.  I needed a break from the gardening beds during the hot, rainy months so I used the plastic.  Many gardeners are against using plastic in the garden because it isn’t sustainable.  I’ve learned that I have to do what works for us.  I can clean up the garden bed in the above picture in a jiffy.  It looks worse than it is.  You should have seen my kitchen 30 minutes ago. 

My chickens love the weeded garden.

My chickens love to hover underneath me when I’m weeding the garden.  It all looks so tidy for about 5 minutes when I finish, then the girls spread the fresh dirt everywhere.  It’s okay with me… they’re getting the bugs. 

Yikes.

I don’t try to weed the entire garden in one day.  It hurts my hands pretty bad to do that.  Most people use machines to make their lives easier when it comes to these tasks, but I am stubbornly old-fashioned with my garden.  It usually takes me about a week to get the weeds under control again.  I don’t do too much at one time.  

We’re getting our garden ready for our fall season vegetable garden.  Grayson’s really excited to grow purple carrots and purple tomatoes.  The purple tomatoes are from seeds that have been passed down from the Cherokee indians.  We’re making a teepee out of pole beans as well.  The teepee structure is up and we’re just waiting for some bean vines to grow on it.   

We’re growing our lettuce a little different this year.  We always grew it in big pots and it was so wonderful.  We would cut it for the table and it would grow again.   It was not funny at all to find that the chickens had demolished every last scrap of lettuce one afternoon.  They didn’t bother it for 2 months.  Then, all of a sudden…  gone.  We’re growing our lettuce inside the pool cage this year.  I think we may have outsmarted them.  The tomato bed is getting a temporary fence around it this season. 

That's better.

  Come grow with us!

12 Responses to “Garden of Weeden”

  1. Hi Lisa–do you grow your lettuce from seed? and what month do you plant lettuce and tomatoes. If you grow from seed, have you already started your seeds? Love Kati

    • Hi Kati- I did a blog on lettuce just for you. We do grow lettuce from seed, it’s the best way. Just plant the seed where you want to grow it… don’t grow it and then transplant it. The seeds are incredibly tiny and you can grow them close together without any problems. I need to plant my lettuce seeds now. I haven’t done it yet, but I won’t wait much longer. It’s usually about 50-60 days to harvest. It’s time to plant tomatoes too (in Florida). Most people grow their tomatoes in small pots and then gradually move them out to the garden bed.

  2. Lisa, if it’s any consolation, glyphosate, or any other herbicide is pretty ineffective in eradicating the dreaded Nut Sedge you’ve photographed.
    Double Yikes! The leaves and flowers you see above ground are only half the problem. Sedges grow from tough underground stems, (rhizomes), that form tubers or corms, the little brown “nuts” found at the base of the leaves of young plants amid roots. The grass-like leaves merely manufacture nourishment to fortify the tubers for next year’s weed production. Tilling just spreads them around and the deep tough rhizomes are unaffected by solarization. So the trick is to get rid of the nuts and rhizomes by deep manual digging a foot or more, and ripping them out, OR by cutting off the food supply to the tubers so that they eventually die out. You can accomplish the latter by pulling or weed whacking BEFORE the plant matures and does it’s work, or by repeated and repeated (and repeated) application of herbicides, (not an option).
    ‘ Apologize for the lengthy comment, but armed with this knowledge, I’ve reduced a nut sedge crop like your own from an annual plague to less than a rare nuisance sprout. Good Luck!

    • They should rename it to “nut dread”. This is the first year I’ve actually let them go to seed inside my garden beds. I usually spend many, many hours pulling them (year after year). Good to know that the seeds aren’t the problem. I’ve noticed that it really doesn’t make any difference how much diggin’ I do… there’s always a tuber left in there somewhere. I find them to be easily managed in the fall and winter. It’s just in the summertime that they get the better of me. The plastic covers make me feel better because it keeps the garden area looking tidy in the summers.

      • Yup. Years! and there’s always a tuber left. I’ve drastically down-scaled my plantings over the years and have nowhere near the extensive area suitable for an active young family like yours. I’m able cover fallow beds and between plantings with varying layers of newspapers & end rolls of newsprint, then lots of fine wood chips, (aged), from a local tree service. That way I can just turn it under when I’m ready to plant and can spot & pull the nut dread when it pops up. It looks pretty good, too. And talk about looking good! Your pic of the charming little beauty all in pink is priceless! A real prize winner. Good show!

      • I’m so glad you are following my posts and leaving replies. You clearly have extensive gardening knowledge… I love that! Please keep your comments coming, I look for yours. I learn by reading, researching, hands-on, and a lot of listening.

  3. What a lovely thing to say! Thanks for your kindness, Lisa, and be assured that the sentiment is mutual. I look forward to your rich and imaginative, (not to mention good-humored), posts like ongoing chapters in a delightful story, a favorite book. For me, they are always thought provoking, a source of inspiration, new information and insights. Your manner of presentation is so clear and genuine, so natural, that it’s as if you were speaking to each reader personally, and it’s easy to become engaged. The pleasure is all mine. Carry on the good work. It seems to me that the world is a better place when we share our discoveries.

    • I’m totally speechless… thank you very much! I completely agree that the world is indeed a better place when we share our discoveries everybody shares their discoveries. Well stated!

  4. thats some amazing playstructure in the background! wow! my kids would be ALL OVER it! LOL.
    great yard!
    barb

  5. Minneapolis Tree Trimming…

    […]Garden of Weeden « Pick Me Yard[…]…

Leave a Reply

